Wednesday, April 21, 2010

On Sunday evening, April 18, Peru State College Student Senate capped off its wonderfully successful year's events at the annual Student Senate Awards' Banquet.

Last year, Student Senate held its banquet at the Firehouse Grill in Murray, NE, and returned this year to the Student Center.

President Susan Reynolds and Vice President Shane Mathis presided over the banquet and passed the gavel to
next year's Student Senate's leaders, President Elizabeth Zito and Vice President Becky Colling.

In addition to enjoying an excellent meal and receiving certificates of achievement, senate members also honored the nominees and winners of the Scroll of Achievement and Barb Lewellen Awards.

This year, four superb students received nominations for the Scroll
of Service Award, Will Fogle, Alicia Miller, Caroline Keenan, and Sami Meyer.

This year, Student Senate members honored Will Fogle with the Scroll of Service Award. When you see Will and the three other notable students, offer them congratulations.

Nominations for the Barb Lewellen Award included President Dan Hanson, Peggy
Groff, Kristi Nies, and Larue Strayer, four admirable candidates, to be sure.

And this year, Student Senate honored Peggy Groff with
the Barb Lewellen Award for her many years of devoted service to Peru State College, its students, and the Peru Community.

Make sure to congratulate Peggy, who not only merits the award but also appreciates all the the award means. Her acceptance speech made Student Senate members proud of their choice.

I posted photographs from the event.

Susan Reynolds and Will Fogle

Peggy Groff

No comments: