Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Kij Johnson Visits PSC, Thursday, April 26

Kij Johnson, multiple award-winning writer--pictured here with master of horror, Peter Straub--will visit campus on Thursday, April 26, the final day of teaching for this semester for most people.

I had hoped for two presentations, but all is chaos on this day. If an opening presents itself, I will update this information. But on Thursday at 9:30, April 26,  in Hoyt 104, Kij will talk about her writing and give a short reading.

As a quick look at Kij's webpage underscores,  she has won multiple awards for her writing, including World Fantasy, Nebula, Hugo, and others. Her page on publications will do more than impress.

In addition to writing award-winning literature, Kij teaches at the University of Kansas; her university webpage provides a list of all her most recent awards.

This past year, Kij published a sequel to the venerated Wind in the
Willows by Kenneth  Grahame, Along the Riverbank.

Students in my Children's Literature class this term read Jij's and Grahame's books.

You will also enjoy reading her article about Along the Riverbank published in The Guardian, Writing women into The Wind in the Willows revitalises the canon.

Please take advantage of this opportunity to meet and interact with  Kij Johnson, an excellent way to conclude the teaching term!

 Partial List of Kij Johnson's awards for her literary achievements:

Hugo Award.
Winner, 2012, for best novella.
Five-time finalist: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013.
Nebula Award.
Winner, 2012, for best novella.
Winner, 2011, for best short story (tie with Harlan Ellison).
Winner, 2010, for best short story.
Five-time finalist: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012.
World Fantasy Award.
Winner, 2009, for best short story.
Five-time finalist: 2004, 2008, 2009, 2011, and 2013.
Theodore A. Sturgeon Memorial Award.
Winner, 1994.
Shortlisted five times: 1994, 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2012.
Locus Magazine Reader’s Poll.
Six-time finalist: 2008, 2009, 2010 (for two stories), 2011, and 2012.
Asimov’s Magazine Reader’s Award.
Winner, 2012, for best novella.
Winner, 2009, for best short story.
William L. Crawford Fantasy Award.
Winner, 1999.
James A. Tiptree Award.
Shortlist, 2004.
Longlist, 1993.
Mythopoeic Award.
Finalist, 2004.